Shows

To sign up for email announcements previewing upcoming concerts, recordings, songzines, etc., email info@wychwood.xyz. Averages one message per month, most shows in Ottawa over the internet, during the current coronapocalypse.

Coming Up

We’re planning several livestreams, going forward during this troubled time. Next up: part 2 of ‘Roots of Resistance,’ date to be determined. Come back for details or follow us on the old Faceborg if you want notifications, and scroll down to watch our previous streams.

Friday April 17, 2020 – Roots of Resistance
9pm (Eastern, and 6pm PT/ 7pm MT/ 8pm CT/ 10pm AT
)
The first of 2 concerts where we explore the traditional roots of protest songs.

 

(Click on the youtube button or click this link to join the live chat.)

While waiting for the livestream to start, you can check out a youtube playlist that includes many of the songs we’ll play, and a google drive folder with words and chords so you can play and sing along and even request songs.

The date for Part II is to be determined – likely around May 31.

Why did we want to do concerts reconnecting protest
songs to their traditional roots?

Well, these are troubled times – even more than when we first planned this set. And folksongs have always offered opportunities to for everyday resistance and truth-telling.

More modern folksingers like Woody Guthrie, Bob Dylan, and Pete Seeger often laid their topical lyrics over traditional songs, but these roots are usually lost on us today.

For example, when Florence Reece scribbled the lyrics of “Which Side Are You On?” on a calendar after anti-union thugs terrorized her family in 1931, her fierce lyrics were nourished by the traditional song that provided the song’s melody – “Jackie Munro,” which told the tale of a woman who went to war “dressed like a man” to save her lover.

We want to redraw some of these connections – and reintroduce traditional songs that that don’t need any updating to serve as powerful protests, like “Johnny has gone for a soldier.”

At this time when everything seems unstable and dangerous, when our incompetent governments are getting totalitarian and the greedy corporations that have failed us demand to be saved, let’s re-root ourselves so we can grow new forms of resistance and solidarity.

In the Past

Saturday April 11, 2020 – Gospel Songs for Easter Saturday
4pm (Eastern, and 1pm PT/ 2pm MT/ 3pm CT/ 5pm AT
)
Here is
the link to the youtube livestream.Wychwood gospel Here is a google drive folder with words and chords so you can play and sing along. You can also check out a youtube playlist that includes many of the songs we’ll play,

Past Shows, in Meatspace

Sunday February 2, 2020 
1pm
Pop-up Show at Something Else Records in Kingston with Sarah Howard (Kingston) and Alexis Castrogiovanni (MTL.)

Saturday February 1, 2020
Opening for Sarah Howard (Kingston) and Alexis Castrogiovanni (MTL.)
Musiikki Café (73 Brock st.) Kingston, ON
Doors 8pm, Music 8:30
Facebook Event Link 

Friday December 13, 2019 
The Annual Holiday Songshare at the Log Drive Café
Nectar Centre 255 MacKay St. 
Music 7:30pm $5 or PWYC in support of the Parkdale Food Centre 

Friday December 6, 2019
Opening for Fliss (Felicity DeCarle from Sparklesaurus)
At the Art House Café (555 Somerset Street W)

Saturday November 16, 2019
Opening for Alexis Castrogiovanni, with Golbon Moltaji
At Pressed (750 Gladstone Avenue)
Doors 8pm, $10 or PWYC
Doors 8pm, Show 8:30, $12

Saturday September 14, 2019
Playing with Honest Racket at Backdrop (160 Metcalfe st.)
Doors 7pm – Show at 8pm
No Cover
Click here for more info

Saturday September 7, 2019
Ottawa Porchfest at the Hintonburg Public House

June 8, 2019
Playing with the
Dustbowl Daddies at Irene’s to celebrate the Daddies’ 10th anniversary and to raise funds for the Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre.

August 17
Halfwych set at the Princeton Traditional Music Festival.

Friday October 26, 2018
All country blues show at the Log Drive Café (Abbotsford House – 950 Bank St. across from Lansdowne). Showtime 7:30. $10 or PWYC. 

Country Blues Wychwood updated.png

Tuesday October 16, 2018
Featured artist on Kimberly Sunstrum’s‘s Tuesday nights at the Lowertown Brewery 

Friday October 12, 2018
Birthday party house show in support of Cornerstone House Women’s Shelter 

Saturday September 8, 2018
Porchfest outside the Tooth and Nail Brewery

August 22, 2018
The Rainbow Bistro with Weep and Bloom and the Bastards and the Buzzards

August 17, 2018
House Show opening for Stephanie Ratcliff and Bre McDaniel

August 3, 2018
Black and Bluegrass Fest at the Rainbow Bistro

February 23, 2017
Songs of Love and Death” at the Log Drive Café

Poster Log Drive Cafe